Tulips

20130506-232037.jpg

I love tulips! And this year I got some really beautiful ones. It was almost tragic to see them whither away…

Of course I put them in the compost and no surprise, they broke down beautifully. I like giving my worms variety so the occasional cut flowers add a nice addition to the home and the compost.

If they’re coming in from outdoors, I’d just watch for pests. Most purchased cut flowers should be fine but if you’re cutting them yourself it’s just something to keep in mind.

Also other flowers, with hard stems like roses, may take longer to break down.

Leave a Reply

