Beets

20130506-230800.jpg
I haven’t found a leafy green that worms don’t like but this is more something to consider when buying beets.

I love beets, they’re probably one of my favorite vegetables. I usually try to buy beets with the greens even when the greens don’t look ideal for eating.

In the winter the greens are sometimes withered and bruised but the beets with greens always look healthier and less dry than the ones without so I buy them anyway and just feed the greens to the worms.

I cut off the greens and usually shave off a bit of the root near the green that looks dry and dirty (even after its been washed) and toss it all in the bin.

Leave a Reply

