Pothos

20121026-154506.jpg

This plant has taken over my house and I love it!

Pothos is one of the easiest plants to grow indoors and it’s also considered one of the best plants for purifying the air.

I started with a $1.99 plant 4 years ago and after many clipping, repottings, and some easy hydroponics this plant is in every room in my house.

Grown in soil it can handle the occasional forgetful watering and doesn’t require a lot of light to survive.

But what I love most about this plant is how easy it can grow in water. The photo above is a few clippings sitting in a jar of water. The clippings in water will eventually grow roots and can be planted in soil or left in water. I like growing it in water cause it’s easier to know when to water it, I just top it up whenever I see there’s room. Also clippings make it easy and cheap to multiply. I often use tomato passata jars because they’re tall and skinny but you can use any jar.

Take a few long clippings, at least 10 leaves down I think works best. Pull off the first 4-5 leaves near the cut end and place in the jar of water and that’s it!

I’ve never even fertilized these plants.

I like them best on shelves and high places where they can hang down. I also use them to cover things like my worm bin.

Right now there are 10 of these plants all over my home and growing. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

