Cucumber

20120609-090427.jpg

Surprisingly I was able to grow cucumber on the balcony a couple of years ago. I only got 2 cucumbers but I also went away and didn’t water them for about a month.

This year I’ve got 2 cucumber plants and they’re looking pretty good. I planted them in a box with spinach in the early spring but I recently pulled out the spinach (they were starting to bolt) and planted dill and lettuce with them as well as a bell pepper plant.

Dill and lettuce are both recommended companion plants. And I’m testing out the bell pepper. I’ve also got a few snow peas leftover in the box that I was growing with the spinach.

I’m undecided about cutting back the cucumber and focusing on a few fruit or letting it grow and seeing how many grow.

Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

