Bread and Grains?

Bread Update…

Yuck!

I decide to throw in a bit of bread just to see what it’d look like and I think the photo below says it all.

20120514-140837.jpg

This is homemade organic sourdough, so just flour, water, salt, and yeast. It didn’t smell but when moved it gave off a little dust which I was scared to breathe in. It was also covered in mites which doesn’t bother me but if you put a lot of bread in your bin it could get out of hand.

I’m moving bread to my personal no list but I’m keeping it on the fence on the site because technically it doesn’t seem to hurt the worms and it does break down. I just don’t like the green & orange mold. Plus I rarely have leftover bread anyway.

Old Post:

Anyone have experience with this one?

I’ve read on most sites that it’s ok but one site said it encourages red mites. Between my love of toast, grilled cheese sandwiches, and making fresh bread crumbs, I rarely have leftover bread for the bin but I am curious if anyone has an experience they’d like to share?

A fellow worm composter just emailed this tip on bread in composts:

“I’ve realized that bread is not compost friendly. Not only does it mold and stink, but it holds a lot of mostuire so it attracts a lot of mites. On top of that, for some reason it makes the bin incredibly warm so you can’t put more than a couple slices in at a time.”

Great observations, thanks so much for sharing!

3 comments

  1. Hi Alice, I bought my worms from you. I threw in a big chunk of stale bread and it turned turquoise from the mold, but after a while, I did find lots of mites all over the bread. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing, but in the future, I’ll only put in small pieces in so that it won’t get over populated with mites.

  2. I bake bread and occasionally throw in extra flour that I did not use while kneading. But I am very careful to not over do it. I have not had any problems with it. But we’re talking a very, very small amount.

Leave a Reply

