Spinach

Spinach update:

20120523-193939.jpg

So far I’ve only gotten baby spinach from my spinach plants. I’m not sure I have the patience for full spinach but the baby spinach has been great!

I’ve had 3 handful harvests, enough to add to a serving of pasta & sausage, pasta & garlic, and sautéed spinach with garlic.

20120523-194306.jpg

Although I paid about $3 for the seedlings and have probably gotten about the volume of $1.50 worth of baby spinach by supermarket standards, the fresh spinach and the ability to get a little one day, and a little more the another without it wilting in the fridge has been awesome.

I’ve noticed that my spinach has grown a long stem and the leaves are a bit small. I’m not sure if it’s because of the way I’ve been harvesting or the type of spinach but if anyone has any insight please share. 🙂

Old post:

20120503-221453.jpg

So even though I bought seeds last week I still bought seedlings yesterday. I just can’t wait for fresh spinach.

I’ve read spinach grows well in cool temperatures so they’re a good early spring and late summer/fall crop. I’ve also read that they like the shade and are pretty easy to grow.

I’m hoping this post will be a bit like a gardening journal for my spinach since this is my first crop so stay tuned. 🙂

Leave a Reply

