Early Spring Gardening

I bought a few herbs a couple of weeks ago when the weather was nice because I just couldn’t resist. I also planted some seeds from last year and cleaned up the balcony a bit.

And despite the cold weather lately they’re doing alright. In fact, the sage, thyme, oregano, rosemary, and snow peas seem to like the cold and look great. The carrots and beets look ok but they’re growing from seed so I expect them to take longer. And the basil, marjoram, and tarragon don’t look as great but they’re still alive… And at least for the tarragon and marjoram it may be because the original plants weren’t at their best when I planted them.

20120428-082851.jpg

I always have a problem with aphids every year and I was hoping the cold might deter them while the plants get settled. The Marjoram was a cutting I brought in from last summer and it did have aphids and it looks like they have diminished in the cold outdoors.

It got me thinking about what other plants might be ok in the cold so I did a little research on early starters and cold weather plants.

Sure enough there are some plants that start early.

Beets
Broad Beans
Cabbage
Carrots
Mustard Greens
Onions
Peas
Radishes
Salad Blends
Spinach
Swiss Chard

Now I only have a balcony to work with so things like asparagus and onions are probably out. But a few favorites of mine like Spinach, Arugula, and Spring Onions made the list so I picked up some seeds and headed out to the balcony. I’ll let you know how they grow… đŸ™‚

20120428-082745.jpg

Leave a Reply

