Onions?

I eat a lot of onions and I always throw in onion peels and the chopped off tops and bottoms in the bin without a second thought. Since I use most of the onion, it hasn’t been too much of an issue but I read recently that onions can sometimes create a smell in the bin and it can make a bin acidic.

I do sometimes notice an onion smell but always assumed it was because I just added onions, which is quite regularly the case. I also often leave my onions with other kitchen scraps on my counter and only empty the container every 5-7 days so maybe my onions aren’t as potent?

As for making the bin acidic, I haven’t had that issue but it could be because I add a lot of egg shells which have calcium and counter acidity.

Would love to hear other people’s experiences with onions?

Leave a Reply

