Avocado Plant

I love my avocado plant, and it came about totally by accident. I threw a few pits into the compost a little while back when i was going through a guacamole phase and a few months later as I was moving things around I noticed one had sprouted. Being the curious gardener that I am, I decided to plant it and see what happens.

Within a month it sprouted into a nice desk top plant. It’s now been just over a year and it’s about to be replanted into a larger pot that sits on the floor so it can be an indoor tree.

The leaves are big and floppy which I love. It droops when it needs water so it’s easy to care for. It can be as big or as little as you let it. And while you’ll never get avocados growing it indoors in Canada, it’s a hardy house plant that not only cleans the air and livens up the place, but it’s also a great conversation starter. “Oh that old thing, it’s just an avocado plant I grew from seed.”

Some things to keep in mind, not every pit will sprout so hedge your bet with a few pits. Remember where you placed it and leave that area alone for a couple of months but don’t leave it too long, many pits have disappeared into my bin never to be seen again. Avocados like sun so I keep mine at my south facing window but I do find in the summer it can dry out a lot faster so if you want a little less maintenance maybe move it a few inches in so it’s not in direct sunlight.

20111025-115348.jpg

Leave a Reply

